Differences in Migration Codes -- AIX 3.2 to 4.1
OS Level: AIX Version 3.2.5
There are differences between the migration codes from AIX Version 3.2
Handle each of the following in the manner indicated.
- The file should be moved back to its original position after
- The file should be preserved (or moved back to its original
position) after a Version 4.1 migration, but for a Version 3.2 migration it
should be left saved under /tmp/bos.
- The file is left saved under /tmp/bos. If there are any
settings in the file that are required, the user must manually
move these settings into the new version of the file.
- The old and new versions of the file will be swapped. The old
version will become active. The new version will be saved under
/tmp/bos so that any required settings from the new, 4.1 version
of the file can be merged into the old version if required.
- The file is moved back to its original position. However, in
most cases a merge method will also be specified with
auto_merge files. The merge method will be run first to merge
any settings or new requirements from the 4.1 version of the
file with any user or site specific settings from the Version 3.2 file.
The resulting, combined file is then moved to the active position.
- This is handled as a user_merge and left saved under /tmp/bos.
[ Doc Ref: 93327008613318 Publish Date: Aug. 20, 1999 4FAX Ref: none ]